Help guide
How unread conversations and messages work
The counter shows conversations with at least one unread message and updates when you open them.
When a new message arrives, the conversation can be shown as unread until you open it.
The messaging counter represents the number of conversations containing at least one unread message, not the total number of individual messages received.
This means that several new messages in the same conversation still count as one conversation to read.
When you open that chat, messages addressed to you are marked as read and the conversation no longer contributes to the unread counter.